Where have I been?

Oh my goodness you guys. It’s a blog!

I shudder to think how long it’s been but I swear, I have perfectly good excuses for my absence, namely I got really freaking busy. I am still really freaking busy now (and about to get more so) but it’s a different kind and at least right this minute I can write a blog.

How is everyone? I hope you’re all doing well. If you’re Facebook peeps (actually, if you’re NOT Facebook peeps, where did you come from?) you know that I still frequent that space but not nearly as much as I used to. Mostly it’s a nice distraction for a few minutes here and there. You also probably know that I got a new job! That’s right, y’all, I have a regular, grown-up, full-time, permanent job where I get things like vacation and benefits! Can you believe it? It only took until I was 34 to have a real adult job. The job itself is going well so far. I have been here almost 2 weeks and I feel like I know pretty much nothing, but no one seems to mind yet. I can tell as I learn more stuff I’m going to get busier and busier, but right now I feel kinda superfluous. Like I said, tho, no one seems to mind too much (they probably just think about how crazy it’ll be soon enough) and they’re all really nice. I hadn’t realized how long it had been (seriously, maybe never?) since I had a job I thought would be permanent. That makes a big difference in how one views their employment. At the last job, I worked hard and did what was needed, but there was no real need for me to take over anything or change things to fit me too much because I knew from day one that I would not be there forever. Here, I feel like the better and more comfortable I make it and the more thoroughly I learn my job, the better my life will be for years to come. That may be obvious to some people, but this is a totally new experience for me. I kinda like it.

Kids are doing great. We’ve been taking them swimming because we got free passes to the Y for the month of May and they’re loving it. Safi told me several times last night (at about 10 pm) that she wanted to go swimming and was not best pleased when I told her we couldn’t because it was closed. She’s rather hilarious when actually swimming. I have changed her name to the Barnacle Baby. She clings on like nobody’s business and will not do anything unless she’s got at least a grip on your hand (and if she has her way, your shoulder, your arm, your hair and your face.) Even with all that, she really seems to like it. Monty loves it as well, but his favorite part is having massive splash fights with Uncle and Saf and I stay back from that.

I know this is short and I know that it should be longer, being the first one in a long time, but it’s time for me to go so I’ll talk to you later! Have a great week!

P.S. It’s been 2 months. Sorry about that!

Leave a Reply

