See! I told you I wouldn’t abandon it!

Hello and Merry Christmas Eve eve everybody! I am actually blogging a day in advance (for once!) since I will be so busy over the next couple of days I won’t be able to do it. I would tell you all that we’re doing but for two things: 1. I don’t know what all we’re doing for sure, or when, and B. It would make you exhausted just reading about it. (Trust me. It makes me tired just thinking about it!) Suffice to say there will be lots of presents, family and food. I’m excited.

I don’t really know quite what to talk about today. Oh, yeah. Did you see that I started another blog this morning? Kind of on a whim kinda thought out, it’s katireadsbooks.wordpress.com and it will be a book review blog. It turns out that there is a website you can go to and request free advance copies of books with the intent of blogging a review when you’re done. I think that sounds super fun and I also seem to have vague ideas about it growing into something useful and fun with the added joy of maybe making some money someday (I read about a lot of bloggers who do and one thing they say is that it helps to think about who your blog can help and I don’t know how but maybe this new blog can help people in some way. I don’t know.) Do not fear, this is not a replacement for the current blog at all. It’s like having a second blog baby. I can take care of both and love them both equally.

I want to say thank you so much to everyone who read, commented, texted and all around chatted with me about last week’s blog about goals. I am in a different frame of mind completely on that topic today than I was last week. I’m not sure why I was so tied up in worrying about things the way I was, and I am not tied up the same today (although I can and do always cycle through emotions like that so stand by. It’ll be back.) Today I actually wrote down a goal that I want to try new recipes more. Tentatively I want to try a new one once a week but we’ll see. We are big fans of leftovers (at least I am and the kids eat what I feed them!) and if I play my cards right, I will run out of days to try new things, but I do want to try stuff. We currently have a very short list of what we eat all the time based on what the kids like, what Carlos feels like is at least approaching sorta healthy, what will create enough leftovers to feed us for at least two days, and what we can stand eating again and again. One of those meals is Chicken Ranch Burritos which are made in the crockpot and are therefore my personal favorite. When I looked at Pinterest today, about the last seven things I pinned were either collections of crockpot meals or make-ahead freezer meal plans, so we’ll probably work on those as we move ahead. Just in case you were curious, our go-to meals are usually Chicken Ranch Burritos, Pork Chops and Cream of Mushroom, Spam Beans Tomato Sauce, chili dogs, asparagus pie and sometimes Stefau which I’m pretty sure is spelled wrong but is super tasty. Chicken boiled with onions in soy sauce and water, served over rice. These things are all super tasty but I am hoping to branch out a bit.

It has been a really rotten couple of nights in the sleep department. The little one still refuses to sleep in her crib unless you sneak her in after she passes out, and she wakes up multiple times a night, which means so does everyone else. Night before last she capped off the night by barfing all over me, the bed, and Dr. Doggie, favorite stuffy extraordinaire, and screaming herself to sleep about wanting him back (he was in the drier of course.) When she did finally pass out, it was on me and I had not gotten comfortable in any way in preparation of sleeping so I spent an uncomfortable hour or so dozing off until it was time to get up. This led to yesterday not being the most pleasant day. Last night I waited until the kids were in bed and attempted to wrap presents, which worked for about 40 minutes until Smallfry woke up and insisted on “helping,” which of course took three times as long. My favorite part about Christmas Eve this year so far is that I don’t have to work and can, in theory, sleep in. In theory. If there is one thing I have learned since getting children, it’s that their idea of a calm morning looks drastically different than mine.

Speaking of super tiredness, I am having a hard time staying awake to write this blog. Yes, I am at work but there is nothing to do so maybe no one will notice if I doze off for a bit. Even if they do, all they’re likely to do is laugh at me and at this point, I can handle that. Have a lovely week, enjoy your Christmas and holidays and all and I will see you next week!

Leave a Reply

