Has it really been a month!?!

Hey you guys! How are you? Did you think I forgot you all? Did you miss me? I didn’t forget and I did miss you. November was a crazy month and I did warn you that I might be on hiatus to write a book, so it’s not like I disappeared completely, right? I have no idea what to tell you guys about today so I think I’ll try for a list of things that happened since we last spoke! Sound good?

I wrote a book. I really did! I did the NaNoWriMo challenge for the first times and I won! In the course of November I wrote a novel. (I know I told you about it before but I’m basking in my glory so please stand by.) The goal of the challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month, which works out to about 1,667 words a day, which of course I did not do. On weekends or really busy days I did zero words and on days I could I did as many as almost 7,000 words. (Of course I kept track of my daily word counts in my Bullet Journal as I went! Biggest day was November 19 at 6,815 and I had 15 days of zero words.) In the end my novel is 51,069 words long. And it is a bit of a mess. When you write the first draft with the simple goal of word count over all other things, some stuff is rough, but it is a story and I do like it and I plan to clean it up and see what I want to do with it next. My mom has been reading it as I go and is actually hoping to finish the rest of it this weekend. She likes it so it must be great, right? It has a title right now of Pieces of Emotion and it is about a girl who is developing a mysterious ability. When she looks at people she sees colors and she doesn’t know why or what it means. Stay tuned. I’ll share sometime!

I turned 34. My birthday was back on the 14th and it was a day. My mom, in all her mom awesomeness, took me shopping, which is fun, for new interview clothes, which is responsible. And they look great. And I hope to have to wear them soon, although the jobsearch has gone to the wayside a bit for the novel. I’ll be picking back up soon. Dinner for my birthday did not go as planned as I had a massive meltdown argument with the bigger kid and he and the Carlos didn’t go to dinner, and I spent most of the meal feeling like I am failing at everything (whoa, never heard that out of me, have you?) but Mom and Mindy helped me out and we ate pizza and things got better.

Kids are doing okay. The little one has suddenly decided she doesn’t want to sleep in her crib all night and is wreaking havoc on all adult sleep schedules. She did, however, stay in there all night last night, which I hope is a sign that she’s growing out of it. (Yeah, right. I know. Unlikely.) The bigger kid and I have been doing about the same, a little worse sometimes. I feel like progress is being made but then things happen like we get to school and he refuses to get out of the car for 20 minutes and I don’t know what to do or how to deal and I can’t figure out what to try next. I know that he’s had a tough couple of weeks (his dad’s situation changed and he got to come to some visits for the first time in several months but then he’s going to treatment now and won’t be at visits again for a while.) and I hope we start to even out again here soon.

Still haven’t bought a house. Making strides in the credit department and I hope to get some news soon about it and maybe early next year (? I hope?)

I can’t really think of anything else right now. I know this is a little short but I am out of practice. Also, about this time last year I think I stopped doing blogs completely for several months, so I just have to make sure I don’t do that again. I hope to have more to tell you about next week. Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

