Anybody want to buy us a house?

So here we are again. Blog time. And on time this time! Woo! What to talk about…….

We went and looked at the house. Again. Two more times actually. On the inside this time. And we love it. A lot. It really is rather perfect for us. There is a ton of storage space and the area we talked about making into rooms for Carlos’s mom and brother is actually already split into rooms somewhat. Desmond has decided he wants an office so he can do paperwork. Monty insists (or at least did at one point) that we need a dining room. Safi is a fan of the handicapped accessible ramp to the front porch which she ran up and down repeatedly. And Carlos and I love that it’s remote, quiet, a big piece of property, no neighbors cutting through, throwing trash or parking cars, and the start of real self-sustainability. I love it. I want it a lot. Can I have it? Well, we’re not sure. I am talking with a loan person about what exactly to do to fix my credit as quick as possible. The good and bad news is that there is not much that will fix it fast, but there are a few things. Apparently I have something reported on my credit report twice. If that comes off it will help. And I have a late payment and if I ask nicely and they remove it that will boost me 20-30 points. And then there’s this weird thing. Part of my problem is I don’t have enough revolving debt in good standing. If I can get someone I know who has a credit card that they’ve had a long time and have good history on it to add me as an approved user, the history of that card will go into my credit and boost my credit. I don’t know how much. And I don’t know who would want to do that. It seems like a lot to ask of someone. I don’t know. That’s it. There are things that I should pay off but the paying off is not going to boost me right away. And boosting right away is what I need. Hopefully these things work and it’s good enough because if not, there’s not much else that will get us to the buying phase. Fingers crossed if you please!

Our water heater went out this week. Monday morning in fact, as I was getting ready to leave for work. I went to let the dog in and heard an odd noise and looked over to see water spreading across the floor. The bottom was rusted and finally gave up. I haven’t the faintest idea how old that water heater is. Rather old I assume. And 55ish gallons of water spread a lot and make quite a mess. Ultimately (the next day ;() the landlord bought a new one and the Carlos installed it. It works as a reminder of several things. Yes, when we buy our own house, that kind of thing will be all on us and I don’t know how we’ll be able to afford it sometimes. However, if it was our house, I wouldn’t have to wait for someone else to decide to get on it. And finally, the fact that the landlord tried to replace it with a smaller one because they are going to tear the house down eventually and she wanted to maybe cut corners. And also the reminder that no matter what we do, we do need to find somewhere else to live as the place we are now is not going to be there forever.

I’m trying to think if there’s much else to discuss. There are bears in the neighborhood of our new house (positive thinking FTW!) and I think that’s awesome. We checked out the town of Eatonville one of the times we were out there and we love it too. I think I was specifically created to live in a small town, and maybe this one in particular. It’s cute and small and there’s not a Wal-Mart or a McDonalds in sight. And I really like that.

There is a bit of disagreement in the house right now. I think it’s mostly because we simply have too many people living in too small a house with only one bathroom. It makes people’s fuses short and causes small things to become big things quickly. I hope that we can move to our new house soon and everyone can have their own room and no one has to wait for the bathroom and we stop being short and snappy with each other. I hope. I don’t know. In the meantime we’ll just keep on keeping on I guess and try not to take ourselves too seriously.

Kinda short today but I have really run out of stuff to say for the moment. Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

