So many “adventures”

Hey everyone! I am feeling sooooo much better than I was last week you would not believe it. I still don’t really know what to write about, so I’m thinking I’ll try to tell you about some of the stuff that’s going on. As usual, life is so hectic. Mostly good hectic, but no matter how great the hectic is, if you have too much of it, it gets hard. Let’s see if telling you guys about it makes it sound more or less intense than it feels to me, shall we?

Our house is about 1,050 square feet. Two bedrooms, one bath, large living room, kitchen, dining area, laundry area. The big bedroom is very large, the small one very small. When we moved in, we were under the impression that we would get into a rent to own situation so that in the end we would own a house. We also consisted of me, the Carlos and the Kougle. Over the last two and a half years, we have expanded to include the six chickens who (still) live in the dining room. Also, the rent to own never happened, the house almost went into foreclosure and was sold on short sale, giving us brand new landlords. That happened last August. The house is on a very large lot (about an acre and a quarter) that is zoned for six lots per acre. When the new people bought the house, they informed us that they intend to tear down he house and build six on the lot, but not for like three years, and they would give us plenty of notice.

At the end of August of this year, Carlos’s mom and his brother Desmond moved in, along with his sister’s dog Koga. We hadn’t gotten a dog yet because the yard is not fully fenced and with my work schedule and Carlos’s questionable health, we weren’t sure we could take care of a dog. Carlos’s mom, Connie, is the primary caregiver for Koga, which is great, but it is a strain having a dog (a beagle no less, and therefore not quiet at all) living with us with no way to go run around all day as we was wont to do before. We’ve had Desmond and Connie with us before, so that doesn’t take too much to get used to, aside from the usual stuff you get when four adults share one bathroom. Connie doesn’t get a bedroom, so we walled off a piece of the living room and she has a single mattress in there. Koga is settling in fine, but having a dog is much different from not having one.

Two weeks ago, Carlos’s nephew came to stay with us. There was drama happening at his house and it was decided that he should come stay with us for a while. He’s four. He’s a good boy and tries to behave, and I love him very much. I have learned that I don’t know how to deal with small children, and I know why. I seem to be under the impression that they should be reasonable. When he is upset, or when he’s doing something he shouldn’t, I want to explain why it’s not okay, or what he should do instead. At that point I want to move on and never have him do it again. He’s four. Reasonable is not only not his strong suit, he also shouldn’t be expected to be reasonable. I just don’t know what to do or expect from small kids. I’m learning. Slowly.

When the nephew came to stay, a car load of Connie’s and Desmond’s stuff came too, since they stay here now and they need clothes and things. Also a cat. Carlos’s brother’s cat now lives with us. Kougle may never ever forgive us. She has always absolutely hated other cats. Thunder was pretty skinny and needed a place to stay and now he’s here. We have a pretty good setup for him where he sleeps in a huge dog kennel at night so he can’t get to the chickens. Kougle spends the entire night trying to sneak out whenever anyone goes out to smoke. She accomplished it the other night and spent about four hours outside in the middle of the night for the first time ever. I guess we should be grateful that she hasn’t run away forever.

Last week I missed half of Wednesday and took Connie and Desmond to the doctor because they were not feeling well. Turns out Connie had pneumonia and Desmond had a sinus infection and bronchitis. Also the well pump was not working again but we fixed it without having to replace it, so that was great. I missed the second job on Thursday because Connie needed rest to try to get better and Carlos was also not feeling well and couldn’t keep up with taking care of the nephew. I came down with some crud and spent the weekend feeling lousy but was better for work on Monday.

There is a ton more and I am just not up to it all right now. I am thinking I am going to permanently move blog day to Saturday since that seems to be the day I can get it done now. Sorry this sounds so rambly, what with starting writing it on Thursday and spouting everything out as it comes to mind. Maybe I’ll continue with my sort of rant, sort of explanation next week, or maybe I’ll actually think of something more interesting to write about by then. I hope everyone’s everything is going great and I’ll see you next week!

Leave a Reply

